PDA

View Full Version : Questions - advice please?

Psalm341
05-14-2015, 12:31 PM
Hello Everyone!
I joined this site years ago when I first started painting but haven't visited for a long time. I'm still painting, but not as often as I'd like to. I have never taken a formal art class but have been self taught, just picking up things here and there and experimenting. Lately I've started watching Utube videos of instructors who's work is what I want mine to look like. In doing so, I'm realizing that I'm spending a lot of time (STILL) trying to get my colors mixed right and then getting the right brush to get the effect I want etc. etc... I end up getting what I want, but it seems to take forever and some frustration in the mean time. I'm using a limited pallet, usually 6-8 colors, but really feel like I'm working in the dark as far as; are they opaque, transparent, cool, warm and do I use a combo of those in one piece and where? Do I have the right red or blue for mixing? Last night I went to the color theory and mixing area here at WC and was enlightened about using black. One of the first pieces of advice I had from a professionally trained artist was to throw away my tube of black and mix my own dark colors. SO....I've been faithful to that and feel like I could have saved myself a lot of grief over the years by ignoring that piece of wisdom. Also...raw umber was an eye opener. The earthy colors in general have been almost absent from any of my work. Makes me wonder how they've turned out as well as they have. I have shown my work in various venues and even won a couple of awards. I've sold many pieces and had several commissions. People seem to really like what I'm doing, but I still feel at sea a lot of the time when I start something. My question, after all this is, when I start a new piece, how can I have a better plan of where to start and how to build an under painting with colors that are in harmony rather than just mixing as I go and painting by trial and