PDA

View Full Version : Playing with my new pastels, assistance needed...

raxu
05-04-2015, 04:54 AM
Hi,

as I finally got my new pastels and pastel paper, I hade a couple of weeks such a tight program with guests and grandchildren and such, I was not able to test my new toys. It was hard to keep calm... :angel:

Now I was able to do a couple of exercises, on Art Spectrum colorfix paper, using Rembrandsts, Art Spectrums, Jaxells and some Derwent pastel pencils. Felt like Christmas, opening all the boxes :)

Here the first one, showing an old barn corner from my childhood farm, with some wild flowers. Some barn gnomes might be hiding as well :)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-May-2015/171274-m_IMG_2716.jpg

My question: is this dull? Chalky? More contrast needed? Coming from watercolors I am just learning what NOT to do... No idea if the choice of paper color (dark grey) made any sense either, as I finally got almost everything covered wth pastels.

Here the second one, started like this, on white paper

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-May-2015/171274-m_IMG_2718.jpg

ended like this

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-May-2015/171274-m_IMG_2719.jpg

I wonder if the background is too "heavy"? I kept on adding darks to make the pears pop out. The paper has no tooth anymore, I'm afraid, yet I would love to hear your personal views about this.

Thanks you in advance for your patience :heart:

robertsloan2
05-04-2015, 07:29 AM
Both of these are fun! No, I don't think the barn is too chalky, the old worn wood texture is great and yeah, it looks like barn gnomes might enjoy that riot of wildflowers! Very cool. Pears on a lace doily is very striking too. It looks almost modernist with that intense blue dark background. I don't think it's too dark at all, it's very intense though. That gives a look like a bold abstraction and it does work with the bright pears carving out shapes in it.