PDA

View Full Version : Is Cad red light really need in watercolor?

oramasha
04-18-2015, 01:03 AM
This is a cross-post from watercolor in case someone is well versed in watercolor.

Hello, watercolorists.

I'm in the midst of putting together my "fantasy" watercolor palette if I were to start to paint in watercolor. I'm new to gouache, and I like it, but it reactivates so easily with water, and I tend to be impatient and I want to layer! It's my understanding that once dry, watercolor doesn't reactivate.

In any case, I come from an acrylic background and am willing to try some new pigments rather than my usual palette. My goal is to find saturated hues that do not have large color shifts and that give me the best mixing options.

For yellows I've chosen: (these are easy, you really can do no wrong, I suspect)

--azo yellow (seems like a good primary)
--Gamboge (m graham)-- never used this one. How do you guys use this in mixes?

Reds:

I'm stumped here. Normally, I'd use cad red light and a quin crimson, and would pull cad red or a quin magenta if needed. Or, even a naphthol red in acrylics. But, I'm trying to just stick with a bare bones 12 color or less palette in case i don't like this medium and to ease my learning curve and encourage me to mix the heck out of my palette.

Do you all find cad red light to be essential? Can I mix with with gamboge and pyrole red? I had it on my acrylic palette there because it mixed skin tones.

Any suggestions for reds warm and cool? None of the permanent alizarins across brands have excellent lightfast ratings.

I was planning on pyrole red since it is so similar to the cad red and mixes well with oranges.

Unless I really get into this medium, I hope not to need 5 colors in each hue with all different properties! (granualating, opaque, etc.) I hope I can make something "attractive" with these transparent or semi transparent colors.

I also plan on buying: (all m graham unless specified)