PDA

View Full Version : still Life with Fruit

J.D.
04-17-2015, 12:36 AM
c and c is always welcome.:)
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/17-Apr-2015/1304943-FullSizeRender_15.jpg

Still-trying
04-17-2015, 05:54 AM
I particularly like the two oranges and the apple near them. Would you consider cropping off some of the wall? Nice fruit shadows.

water girl
04-17-2015, 01:34 PM
You have done a terrific job in capturing the color and texture of the oranges.

J.D.
04-20-2015, 10:13 PM
Jay: yes, I think that I will crop off some of the top. I can do that and it will fit in a standard size frame.

Karen: Thank you. I am still learning but making progress:)

thevaliantx
04-21-2015, 02:28 AM
I easily pick up on patterns, so I think this composition is too predictable and book-ended. Also there are too few variations in value. Personally I would consider cropping off the bottom instead.

jackiesimmonds
04-21-2015, 03:50 AM
There are lots of variations in value, actually....from very light to very dark...but the problem is that they are rather scattered. also, you have lots of similar-size shapes, so it is a tad monotonous.

I would heartily recommend that before leaping into something like this, you try out a little sketchy thumbnail first, to see how the composition really looks.

By doing this, and using different shapes to work within, you might find more interesting layouts. For example....you have chosen a portrait shape, which gives you a large area of wall above, and an area of foreground, neither of which are very much in keeping with the fruit part.

You have a "horizontal" fruit still life.........which imho would have been better as a landscape shape, filling more of the rectangle, with less wall and less foreground.

A crop gives us this rectangle. I think this is better but Now the fruit looks squished between the borders....so by doing a thumbnail, you might have seen this, and would have made the rectangle a touch wider.