PDA

View Full Version : seascape 30x40 acrylic on canvas

tkacrylic
04-14-2015, 04:05 PM
I attempted movement in the ocean but didn't want it to be stormy. I tried ripples. That's seriously difficult. Not great at cliffs. Any suggestions on how to do those would be great. Overall this was fun to paint.

joelaidler101
04-14-2015, 04:22 PM
Good name for a painting that.

tkacrylic
04-14-2015, 05:10 PM
Um, okay... I guess that's feedback.

scribblet
04-14-2015, 05:24 PM
I like it, I'm no expert but maybe the top of the cliff line shouldn't be so straight. :)

tkacrylic
04-14-2015, 05:40 PM
I agree. I can do that. Thanks

TamiP
04-14-2015, 06:11 PM
I agree. First thought was the cliffs look like they were sheared off with a blade, lol God must have been angry that day. I suppose it could happen, but probably not quite that flat. Actually I like your water a lot. The ripples came out good. The sides of your cliffs seem 'flat' as well. Even being straight up and down, I think they'd need a little more emphasis on crags and nooks that would naturally appear. REALLY like your foreground grassy area.

joelaidler101
04-14-2015, 06:21 PM
I think this is a really good painting, it must have taken you a fair few hours, and i really like the title too, hmm where did you get this from ..... me wonders??

Yikes_Scoobie
04-14-2015, 06:25 PM
It looks like the Cliffs of Moher, nice rendition, I particularly like the way the clouds have been painted in, it has the feel of a real wide angle lens on a camera, very nice indeed :)
My only constructive criticism for you would be to maybe try and add a little of your purple/reds from the sky and sea into the shadows on the underneath of some of the flowers and maybe bring them into the cliffs as darker shadow tones also to harmonise the colours throughout. I like this a lot, nice one.

ligal
04-14-2015, 07:20 PM
the cliffs and the horizon line of the water should not line up like

tkacrylic
04-14-2015, 08:02 PM