PDA

View Full Version : Straight from the tube????

44kimmer
04-04-2015, 02:37 PM
Hi,

I am not an artist, but I do oil and acrylic Theorem stenciling, so I guess that makes me a craft person. I use mostly Winsor & Newton acrylics, because when I first learned Theorem stenciling they only used oils, and W&N was the required brand. When I switched to acrylics for other projects, I naturally went with what I knew.

Question: I do use artist's grade, not student or craft grades. Can these be used without additives? To get more transparency for the stencil, using it on wood painted with acrylics, do I thin with water or one of the mediums??? I also use a slight amount of retarder.

I have tried it both ways and I seem to ruin the paint--even after drying a week, it will rub off. Have I added too much of something, not enough??? Or is that normal and I just need to varnish to avoid the rubbing off?

I have read so many articles here and elsewhere, but none answer the specific question of "Do I need additives, or can they used straight out of the tube?"

Thank you for listening,
kimmer

Lady Carol
04-04-2015, 02:59 PM
Hi Kimmer,
This answer will not be a straight answer unfortunately. To thin paint, I have used water and mediums. I have used paint straight from the tube even to the extent of putting the tube end up to the canvas and controlling the amount that comes out the end. Impasto I guess that is called. It is not overtly obvious as to why you have this issue.

I am not familiar with Theorem stenciling (had to google it) but I wonder if your issue comes down to wood preparation. Has the wood been sanded so much that the paint cannot adhere properly to it?

Fox_eNova
04-04-2015, 03:14 PM