PDA

View Full Version : Question about working methods / premixing

msoshu
04-03-2015, 04:25 AM
Hello,

Can somebody please give some thoughts on premixing values and colours for acrylic painting?

I paint still lifes, and I find blending or any type of edge work is very difficult, as I am a beginner, slow and the paint I use dries really quickly.

Most of the instructional videos I have found are for oils and many of them advise premixing colours. If I keep my premixed acrylic colours on a stay wet palette, they run together invariably.

Do you mix your colours on the go, or premix a few or all? Hoping for some tips.

frodron
04-03-2015, 06:13 AM
Try looking at "Clive5art" and "SchaefeAart".
Both can be found on YouTube.
There is plenty of useful information on both sites.

msoshu
04-03-2015, 07:14 AM
Thanks for your help.
I have come across videos by Clive5art, scheaffer art, willkempartschool and Karenilari on youtube and continue to learn from them :)

cliff.kachinske
04-03-2015, 07:23 AM
Check out the information kiosk in this forum. Plenty of information on all kinds of topics.

msoshu
04-03-2015, 08:23 AM
Thanks, I have been reading the Information Kiosk posts, a lot of good info there.

msoshu
04-03-2015, 09:45 AM
Hello again, I was hoping that some of the veterans here would share whether they premix colour strings for their acrylic paintings. You know, just to get a feel of how people who actually do good acrylic paintings go about it.