PDA

View Full Version : Any tips for the newbie?

amdaoh
03-30-2015, 03:46 PM
Helllloo!!

I started painting in January this year. I had never picked up a paint brush before then. I signed up for a local "Paint & Drink" type of thing. (Canvas and Cabernet in Walnut Creek, CA). I quickly became addicted, and will be completing my 7 painting with them this week.

However, I couldn't wait for a scheduled class.... so..I invested in a set of brushes, an easel and some entry level acrylics (Liguitex Basics). I have painted 5 pieces on my own over the last couple of weeks... a few are still work in progress.

I'm looking for any advice, or "if i had known then" type of tips.

So far, I have learned that quality of paint really makes a difference. I started out with Artist's Loft from Micheal's. I didn't realize that "Fast-Drying" would have any impact on my ability to paint a sky (doh.) Since, I have upgraded to a starter kit of Acrylics from Liquitex's Bascis... their basic 6 colors. They made all the difference in the world.

I recently discovered Blick's Art Materials in Berkeley. Another well kept secret. I went there on Saturday, and upgraded again to the 24 Pack of Basics.

My brushes, I am still learning their purpose. I started out with a RealValue set from Princeton Art & Brush (#9155). It's the same set they use at the Paint and Drink sessions. I got a little brave and have added the #9175 & #9156 RealValue sets. I don't know how to use the fan brush, but I have it and I am ready to learn.

I did know to buy gesso/pre-primed canvas. no shockers there.. however. I would like to know the difference between the value packs versus the duck hide canvas... and if it matters or not.

Well... I am extremely intimated by all the well-studied and veteran artists, and can't seem to work up the courage to ask the clerks at the stores... so hopefully this forum will offer the advice and guidance that I so desperately need. :)

Thank you!!

cliff.kachinske