PDA

View Full Version : Struggling with Acrylic

glass22
03-28-2015, 02:02 PM
I've been trying to learn acrylics for a few months but I'm struggling.

How do you know what method to use in what places? when do I blend wet paints on canvas? when do I dry brush, stipple etc?

How can I make a shadow skin colour?

TamiP
03-28-2015, 02:09 PM
I am in about the same place as you. There are tons of great youtube videos that can help with ideas and tutorials. Also on here there are a lot. Mostly, I think we're just going to have to do a lot of trial and error.

idylbrush
03-28-2015, 02:20 PM
IMHO, it takes, time, practice and a whole big bucket of experimentation. In time you will find what effect you want and how to get there.

DMSS
03-28-2015, 02:32 PM
I have been painting for two years and I am still experimenting with and learning techniques. For me it helps to visualize how I want my painting to look: translucent? opaque? no brushstrokes? brushstrokes? thin paint? impasto? This helps me figure out which techniques, medium, paint viscosity, etc. to try out. For me learning all of this is fun. Someone told me the following, which I quite like: "We don't learn to paint. We paint to learn."

Andrew
03-28-2015, 02:57 PM
Don't look at it as a struggle. Look at is as play. Every medium has its quirks and eccentricities, as well as each artists.

Just play around and just see what can be done with different brushes, mediums, just water, surfaces, and paint. Keep it light and easy, and don't worry about making a picture or creating the next great masterpiece.

Andrew

EnPassant
03-28-2015, 03:37 PM
I've been trying to learn acrylics for a few months but I'm struggling.

How do you know what method to use in what places? when do I blend wet paints on canvas? when do I dry brush, stipple etc?

How can I make a shadow skin colour?