PDA

View Full Version : Spring on First Avenue - could use feedback

AnnieA
03-12-2015, 03:30 PM
Hi everyone! This is a small (8x10) painting that I started several years ago, and that sat on my easel for nearly a year, untouched. It's almost done, but needs some tweaking. I'm aware a a few areas needing further work - streetlight pole needs a shadow, windows on the sunny side need reflections, foliage above the car needs to be pushed much further into the background, and the lower right turret window looks a little wonky - but there may be other things I don't see.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/12-Mar-2015/85002-DSCN8124_REV_SCALE.JPG

I'm really pretty new to oil painting in general (although I've done artwork in other media), and this is one of the first cityscape I've ever attempted, and the very first one in oil. I could use some help. I love the painterly style, and I think I managed to achieve that in the figures, but not so much in the building, which is more detailed and tight. I was thinking that painting this scene at a larger scale would have worked better for the building, but then would the figures, if painted with the same looseness, look odd? I'm thinking it might be difficult to paint them with such a minimum of detail at a larger scale.

Any other impressions or thoughts on what I could do to improve this painting, or to improve my oils in general, would be appreciated!

Folio
03-12-2015, 05:02 PM
I like it as it is. The verticals on the lower right turret window might be off by a whisker but if that's fixed it would be fine. I love the figures and also the leafiness at upper left and the contrast lower right. Also the "Inn" sign, it's nice and solid and chunky. Nice painting!

AnnieA
03-12-2015, 05:06 PM