PDA

View Full Version : Buying advice needed.

Bigcaat
02-22-2015, 02:51 AM
This is kind of an odd problem. I am new to pastels, so I don't have many. I'll try to explain, but be brief. I had a real problem with Fine Arts Store. (Would never use them again if my life depended on it. I felt they were the most incompetent, nasty store I've ever dealt with.)

Having not gotten the pastels I ordered, which I may or may not ever get, I'm going elsewhere to order more pastels.

Here's my question.
-- Do I buy the exact same ones I ordered, knowing that someday the ones I ordered may or may not come to me in some way. (I doubt it, or could be months or years.) Or ...
-- Do I instead buy colors in the same family, but slightly different values, so I have something similar to what I had decided I needed, then if I do get the others, I would end up just having a full set of values for each color? Or ...
-- Do I just start looking at other colors altogether, even though those are the closest to what I need right now?

(Right now I have 40 assorted half sticks of the Senneliers and 2 full value sets of greys in Great American - 6 cool grey (Earl) and 6 warm grey (Dorian) that someone gave me for Christmas. I'm in need of some purples, greens, and turquoises.)

Thanks,
Caat

Equus Art
02-22-2015, 07:57 AM
I'm sorry you had a problem with Fine Art Store. My experiences with them have been the total opposite and they more than went out of their way to accommodate me when they were out of stock on some Giraults that I had ordered. They ship FAST and everything has arrived in perfect condition.