PDA

View Full Version : 80 grit sandpaper for my substrate glued to masonite???

Jay-bird77
02-06-2015, 03:28 PM
I'm fairly new to pastels and being on a fixed income.....I don't have the budget to buy what I'd like at times.
So I've been using Strathmore 140c.p. watercolor paper and no guesso or acrylic gels and grit or fixatif spray. So that's been a challenge to get certain effects and layering is kept to a bare minimum causing me to really plan out each step and get creative but I'm dying to see the difference so I'm going to use a 5"x8" 80 grit sandpaper I think it's a bit too rough though. I've never seen a sanded pastel paper before so.....???

jackiesimmonds
02-06-2015, 04:35 PM
try it and see.

If you have more of the Strathmore, you can use a gesso on top of THAT, if you have any. It will fill in some of the "pits" in the paper and will give you a bit of tooth too.

One thing to remember....the most expensive outlay is your pastel sticks. If you use a sanded paper, it will EAT your pastels, you will get through them at a much faster rate. Truly, it is the most UNeconomical way to work with your pastels.

If you have any brown wrapping paper, (parcel paper,) pastellists of old used to work on that. Also, much cheaper than pastel paper is "sugar paper" which is an inexpensive paper often used by kids in schools here in the UK, but it is a nice toothy paper and will hold the pastel.

Odd sheets of cardboard from inside or even outside of packing cartons and boxes can be used for pastels too. So can tracing paper.

In fact, just about anything with a bit of substance is fine...you just cannot work well on smooth, waxy papers.

BEING FRUGAL.....