PDA

View Full Version : Smoothing and blending

Drbear
01-23-2015, 08:33 AM
I would love to start a discussion about smoothing and blending...I admit I smooth pastels way too much! I've started every painting out saying I wount smooth and blend so much but I do it anyway! I like to use the very soft pastels and smooth and blend with my fingers while wearing gloves. I know that crushes the crystals or something and is frowned upon but I'm a surgeon and love using my hands so much. I'm much better with my gloved hands than I am with a pastel in my fingers hey I have a doctors handwriting😉. Anyway I would love to here everyone's opinions on this and some suggestions on how to stop doing it so much! If you look at my last painting I smothed everything out except the bathing suit! Are there things when smoothing is called for or actually suggested maybe I should stick to that sort of subject then?

DAK723
01-23-2015, 09:24 AM
If you are happy with the results of your paintings, then there is no reason to stop doing it so much! Smoothing and blending are perfectly fine to do. If, on the other hand, you find that your paintings seem duller and have lost their more intense color (and sparkle) after you smooth and blend, then you might want to try and limit the amount you blend.

As all things about pastel, the brands of pastel and the types of paper will make some difference. Personally, on smoother papers I will blend more and on rougher sanded papers I would tend to blend less.

On every painting I do, I smooth and blend. My initial lay-in of pastel will always be smoothed so that it covers the paper with as thin a layer of pastel as possible. Many times - to maintain the more intense color and sparkle - i won't blend much or at all for the final layers. Many folks use pastels to do the blending, often using a harder pastel to blend the transitions between colors already laid down.