PDA

View Full Version : How to present your work to a gallery/to the public?

Bethany_Fields
01-15-2015, 10:29 AM
I was invited by two galleries to come and talk to them about hanging my work. I am a super newbie at the "business" side of the art world and don't know what I need to do to prepare. I've read that it's nice to have a portfolio. Do you print your work? Have it printed and have it in a binder? Does an iPad suffice or is that frowned upon? I don't even have business cards! ha.

And on a related note. I have a well-known photography business in my area. I shoot mostly families, newborn babies, graduating seniors, and children and have my website handle at my name: bethanyfields.com. I also have a blog that is mostly random - It's hard finding a time to post! My question is do I purchase a new domain for my art? i.e. bethanyfieldsart.com - I think this looks like "Bethany Field Sart" :roll eyes: Do I make a landing page at my current site and have a selection of either "Photography" and "Art" to where the visitors can click on them to take them to the correct pages? I don't know what I want to do and feel like I need to make something happen in the next few months. I'm familiar with web-design, urls, and registering domains so this isn't daunting to me.

I would love some sage wisdom! Thank you everyone and sorry for all the questions. :D

Davkin
01-15-2015, 10:43 AM
I recommend you ask this question in the general business forum as well, I'm sure you'll get quite a few answers there.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=32

Bethany_Fields
01-15-2015, 10:54 AM
Oh thanks David! I'll head over there. I didn't even know there was a forum like that here on WC! :)

robertsloan2
01-15-2015, 11:17 AM
Actually the landing page thing sounded good.