PDA

View Full Version : Sydney's 2015 sketchbooks

Sydney214
01-04-2015, 09:02 AM
Hoping to improve the speed and accuracy of my drawing. I am at the point where, given the time, I can do a reasonably accurate line drawing from a photo but I want to be able to capture day to day life with my pencil/ pen as well as with my camera.

To this end my sketchbooks will contain sketches done from photos- mine and others (since October I have regularly used pixelovely.com to improve speed and accuracy) as well as from life and occasionally things that are floating around in my head.

I am a beginner so no great pieces of art but I have so enjoyed looking through other peoples that I thought I would add mine. It is always good to see how people improve.

To start off, a sketch of my dog from life:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/04-Jan-2015/1962344-image.jpg

pezk
01-04-2015, 09:05 AM
I like it. You caught the dog. I've always found it hard to be looser in drawing. So that is a good skill to have. Good job!

DrDebby
01-04-2015, 02:16 PM
Love the dog.

Joan T
01-04-2015, 08:33 PM
Great job on the dog!!! I love the texture background.

Sydney214
01-05-2015, 06:48 AM
Thank you for your kind words. I am currently drawing a CP picture of my dog using a photo. However I have the advantage of being able to study him in order to get better colour and understanding of form. it is fun to just do quick sketches.

Yesterday was my first attempt at the scavenger hunt. I was going to wait for the next one which I think will start either today or tomorrow but thought I would get the first page out of the way. I am using a very cheap (1) sketchbook that I will keep just for the scavenger hunt. I have far too many sketchbooks on the go now.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Jan-2015/1962344-image.jpg

DrDebby
01-05-2015, 02:27 PM
Great hunt page.

Joan T
01-05-2015, 08:08 PM
Nice hunt page. I have to get over there today and look for the new list.

robertsloan2