PDA

View Full Version : Winter Cardinal (WIP scratchboard)

SWells99
12-29-2014, 04:37 PM
This is a first attempt at scratchboard in 40 years...did two scratchboards prior in high school so it has been a while!

Need help with what tools to use...would like to try something to texturize the snow on the branches and a background. I have an exacto knife and a scratch tool. What can I use to color it as I would like to try this too?

This is only the cheap scratchboard on cardboard. I have the heavy ones but wanted to use this as a practice piece so as not to ruin a good board. Sorry I am new to this medium and really haven't done much artwork in YEARS.

I am not thin skinned so have at it please...I need an education...lol.

Thank you in advance,
Sue W

Here is the piece:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/29-Dec-2014/1966107-CardinalScratchboard.jpg

Andrewcody
12-29-2014, 07:11 PM
Lovely
I have not used scratch board
I am sure others here with experience will assist
Regards
Andrew

SWells99
12-29-2014, 10:01 PM
Thank you Andrew...I would hope someone here can give a critique.

Sue W

M.L. Schaefer
01-01-2015, 09:51 PM
An excellent little practice piece....my question is, where are the little fellow's feet? The little face is already gorgeous!

But, please click on the red triangle and ask the Moderators to move this to the Scratchboard Art Forum. The artists there are very nice, very helpful, and can gently critique your work, AND tell you about tools. Some of the artists use a HUGE amount of special tools, and their art is drop dead gorgeous! They also describe the coloring process.

:crossfingers: Margarete

Dana Design
01-03-2015, 03:22 PM
The little cardinal is keeping its feeties warm under its feathers and I love it. Especially like your treatment of the snow on the branches. It's very well done for your first go at it.

I will copy this to the Scratchboard forum!

SandeVBL
01-03-2015, 06:46 PM