PDA

View Full Version : Background help or advice? NEWBIE!!

dollardays
07-01-2001, 11:27 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/01-Jul-2001/dad-nobackground.jpg

10 X 16 watercolor on white WC paper

This is a painting of my father that I am working on and it was done from a photo (see below). I am stumped as to what to put in the background. It was taken in a garage. I just want something simple.. with texture? But am unsure what direction to go. Will a wash of color leak into the part that is already done? (I have no frisket). I am very unfamiliar with this medium and this is my first attempt at doing a person in it, so please overlook the obvious errrors and give me some ideas for a simple background to finish it. Thanks so much!
Nora:)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/01-Jul-2001/dadphoto.jpg

Rosebud
07-01-2001, 02:39 PM
Dollardays,

Your rendering of your father is very well done.

Perhaps a dark (around your dad) to light (toward the edges) would work better.

One of my favorite watercolor artists is Mitchell Tolle. Look at some of his portraits (especially the one of Jimmy Carter and look at the ones in his book-"American Artist") on his site "mitchelltolle.com"

Hope this helps you and WELCOME to watercolor !

Rose

Kandiman
07-01-2001, 04:29 PM
I agree with Rosebud, Nora - you have done a great portrait! :clap:
I wish my first watercolour portrait turned out this well :)
Whatever background you choose, you should probably have a hit of a table or counter at the bottom to ensure you don't have a "floating torso" (unless that's the look you want!)
Be sure to post the finished product! :D And keep working in watercolour, you do it well. :)

Rod
07-02-2001, 06:16 AM
A great job with the portrait.
I agree with the comments. I feel a table top is necessary. This you could paint in first and then allow to dry completely.
If you then painted around the figure carefully with clear water so the background only is wetted.