PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie about 18 months

Jay-bird77
12-08-2014, 01:09 PM
I just received my first artists quality soft pastels and I couldn't be more excited!
But as the Wetcanvas.com guru Robertsloan2 proclaims in a great article on his blog it's intimidating actually "breaking them in"!

Theset is from DickBlick art materials! The set isof 15 full and 30 half sticks for $49.99! Amazing!! any suggestions for sorting my box it's a 2 drawer beautiful black box. Should I list the pigments #'s?

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Dec-2014/1190917-14180585226341494095410.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Dec-2014/1190917-14180585944791879265600.jpg

water girl
12-08-2014, 01:47 PM
Thank you for sharing! There is nothing more beautiful or intimidating as a box of new pastels. My very first set of pastels was a 60-piece set of Rembrandt half sticks. I also picked up only a few NuPastel sticks. That was enough to get me going. There is nothing wrong with keeping them in the box. I kept that first set together until the cardboard box broke apart. Now paint!

JPQ
12-08-2014, 03:08 PM
They changed sometimes their pigments for exampel red violet which should recent version also very lightfast. I dont like Rembrands itself.

julieindvik
12-08-2014, 03:17 PM
Congrats on your new set Jay, they are beautiful! My first set was a Rembrandt and I love them! I got started about 18 months ago too...you are much further along. I started drawing, oil, water color and pastel all at the same time which maybe why I'm so far behind you. Now I'm concentrating mostly on pastels and in an oils class too.