PDA

View Full Version : Really dumb question about blue

Artyczar
12-03-2014, 10:56 PM
I am primarily an abstract painter and before that I painted portraits. Lately I have been painting abstracted landscapes, so the colors need not to be as they really are in real life, but I would like to render a couple of pieces with a realistic sky - a desert sky that is very, very brilliant a few hours from dusk.

I have been going a little nuts trying to get a base with cobalt blue and some teals, and I think I'm going in the wrong direction with these. Don't I need cerulean blue?

Bradicus
12-04-2014, 02:00 AM
Art,
Im not understand your question.
If you are looking for some input on how to mix a colour, please list the paint colours you have on hand and what colour you are looking to produce; And I or someone may be able to steer you in the right way.

If you want to know what colour a desert sky actually is...thats pretty subjective!

Depending on colours you have, cerulean hue can usually be mixed pretty easily.

That said, I use cerulean. Its a great colour and mixer.

Cheers,
Brad

Gigalot
12-04-2014, 06:27 AM
I can say about mountains, highlanders sky. It has a very pure, crystal clear color gradient. From about blue-green to a deep ultramarine color. I can recommend Phthalo green, Phthalo Blue and Ultramarine colors. Probably, on a blue-toned acrylic gesso. But avoid white color, it can break any real brightness. On the white background any blue looks dark and mud. Mix white only INTO blue, but paint white clouds as much gray/violet/ochre colored as possible. Caput mortuum, Mars red and Ochre are quite effective additives to mask and to shade white color. The key is anti-white colored clouds over clearest blue gradient.

Artyczar
12-05-2014, 06:22 PM
Thanks for your answers so far. Maybe a picture would help.

Here are one of my photographs I took while I was in Joshua Tree, CA.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Dec-2014/24237-leftofme.jpg

WFMartin