PDA

View Full Version : Stimulating Sketches

GarnerArt
11-27-2014, 05:32 AM
Hi, I'm a wildlife artist and new to this section of Wet Canvas. I'd love to get some feedback from you guys.

I already use my sketchbooks quite a lot, usually working in pencil and watercolour. I tend to keep different sketchbooks for different themes: general wildlife, overseas trips, botanical, life drawing etc. My aim for 2015 is to make my sketchbooks more creative and exciting, with a view to expanding my own practice and encouraging others to be more adventurous with their own sketchbooks. It's easy to get stuck in a rut and keep using the same methods, isn't it?

So my question is, what sketching methods do you use to keep your work fresh? I've started being more adventurous in my life drawing class - I go to an untutored class so we can do whatever we want - and I've started an "experiment sketchbook", it would be great to hear about other people's methods.

I've attached some examples from my existing sketchbooks for your interest.

Thanks, Jackie

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Nov-2014/1619792-Seashore.jpg http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Nov-2014/1619792-Flamingo.jpg http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Nov-2014/1619792-Egypt_series.jpg

DrDebby
11-27-2014, 02:23 PM
Welcome to Art Journals, Jackie. Your sketchbooks are fantastic. Thank you for sharing.

vhere
11-28-2014, 04:58 AM
Nice sketches.

I use lots of different media in my sketchbooks, depending on what suits the subject best. You can see some here (http://sitekreator.com/viviensketches/main_page.html) and here in this forum. Mixed media, watercolour, oils, pencil, charcoal, pastel, ink etc etc etc

I too have themed books from trips, some anything goes, different sizes and papers etc. recently I've been using the bigger S&B beta and delta a lot as I love the paper. It doesn't buckle and ruin sketches or let paint or ink bleed through.