PDA

View Full Version : Advice on how to paint this shed

menko
11-10-2014, 05:13 AM
Hey guys, I'm a beginner acrylic painter, and have a shed that I'm really keen on getting down on canvas and looking good. This is one of the photos of said shed. The difficulty I'm having is getting that ridge pattern. Any suggestions? Hope this is the right area of the forum for this post!
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/10-Nov-2014/1964262-vlcsnap-2014-10-21-08h22m56s173.jpg

chammi kaiser
11-10-2014, 05:18 AM
The easiest way would be to first paint the entire shed with the basic colour - the medium tone or medium grey, then add the darker and lighter strips. Lastly finish with the touches of very light bits eg. on the ends of the wooden strips, the window frame etc. Don't use pure white. Mix white with a tiny touch of your grey colour but make it the lightest tone of your painting. Hope this helps a little. Be happy to answer any questions.

menko
11-10-2014, 05:22 AM
Hmm that's the approach I was hoping I wouldn't have to do, detailing each strip individually. But if that's what has to happen then there you go!

The thing which was giving me the most uphill was the thin strips of shadow. My plan was to paint a flat shed wall with dark and light parts, but not in strips. Then to just draw in the ridge shadows to make the strips.

Tripod
11-10-2014, 08:49 AM
Why not try a dry brush technique over the whole area using a mix of the base colour and add odd colours here and there, in the same angles as the shed sides, don't try and depict every plank(strip).
You can use the very light colour in the mix too, keep it dry and broken.

chammi kaiser
11-10-2014, 09:45 AM