PDA

View Full Version : Brush recommendation + thoughts.

Lobke Spain
11-07-2014, 12:26 PM
Hey,
I see lots of beautiful works with acrylics, a medium I traded in for oils years ago. I didn't like how it dried so fast and I thought it was only apporpriate for glazing, not alla prima, basically. After I said why I didn't like acrylics a while ago, lots of ppl tried to convince me otherwise.

So after a few years of oil painting, I tried it again because if people could make beautiful works with it, maybe it was me.

So I took out my old tubes and I'm having fun with acrylics for the first time. I learned how to scumble with oil paint, this works better in acrylics because it dries faster. I learned how to mix colors better with oil paint, now blending isn't a big issue because I can easily mix an in between color quickly.

I guess it was much easier blaming the medium than me back when I started painting.

Has this happened to anyone else, that you didn't like acrylics but only came to appreciate it once you got better?

-

I am also looking for brush advice. I love the thickness of a bristle hog brush, I can turn it on it's side and make thick strokes and make clean round edges, but most synthetics for acrylics have this razor sharp edge? Any brush types / brands in synthetic with the shape of bristle brushes?

is there anyone who is doing acrylics with natural brushes?

would using acrylics medium instead of water help the brush from losing it's shape in water?

Thanks.

asmith38
11-07-2014, 12:46 PM
When I started with acrylics, I was told not to use natural brushes. Acrylics are hard on brushes, and synthetic ones hold up better.

Of course, I blame the paint, the paper or canvas, the sun or the moon, LOL! But I know that it's really me that can't quite make things be the way I want them.

There is a collection of threads with excellent info on brushes here http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1363257

Happy reading and painting!

bunford