PDA

View Full Version : Beginner looking for advice pls!

Prizen
10-26-2014, 04:48 PM
Hi all,

This is my first post here, appears to be a fantastic resource, glad to have come across this. Hopefully I can learn here and be able to contribute as I progress, but for now I am Just starting out, so would really love to get some advice. That said, I had painted a lot while in high school, but that was over 15 years ago and I really have forgotten even if I used watercolours oils or acrylics!

So I guess the first question would be, which method should I use? I intend to landscape paintings by whatever medium would bring the most satisfaction and results - what would you recommend? Acrylic, or oils, or watercolours?

The next question is equipment. Based upon the above route, what paper or canvass should I get, what type of brushes, what type / brand / colours of paint? Anything else I need?

Lastly, what is the best method to learn? I don't think I will be in a position to attend classes so I guess I will be resigned to YouTube or DVDs.
Would you start out by watching a tutorial of a painting and then try to replicate that painting?

Any help appreciated! Thank you so much.

asmith38
10-26-2014, 05:15 PM
Hello Prizen,

Welcome to Wet Canvas :)!

We're glad to have you here with us, and everyone here is friendly and loves to help. However, your choice of medium is really such a personal choice, that you're the only one who can make that decision.

What did you use in HS (dang, I wish I could say only 15 years ago :D)? You may want to start again with a similar medium. Your post is in the acrylics forum, so we might be a little biased towards it ;), but there is also a forum for watercolors, oils, and landscapes. The equipment will depend on the medium, although some basics are the same such as an easel.