PDA

View Full Version : Help with printing and pricing.

Drifter2015
10-20-2014, 05:46 PM
Hello!

I am a newly adventuring artist in the realm of digital art. I have very little knowledge in this area, so i would like to please ask the advice of those more experienced than myself.

My particular art is generated in digital format and i wish to sell it as prints. Therefore, ive contacted a few printing companies. One situation that is unique here is that in my application, there are possibilities where i may have a single bright pixel in my image surrounded by mostly black pixels. I mentioned this to both companies i contacted and expressed a desire to find a print medium with minimal ink bleeding.

The first company i contacted really didn't seem to be made for artists. They are more used to high quantity prints, such as magazines or massive political mailings etc, but they said they DO handle art requests from time to time. This company recommended their semi-matte material as opposed to their matte material. The employee i talked to actually recommended the second company i talked to, so i didn't ask company #1 about pricing.

Company #2 is more geared towards artists! Right away on their front page there is talk about giclee prints, which is apparently something artists will do for prints. They recommended glossy print media when i asked the same question. Im going to guess maybe the first company didnt have this option for small quantity prints. The reason glossy is supposed to be better according to company #2 is that the ink stays on the surface more and wont seep into the material, which is what causes inks to bleed together. Which material is right? According to company #2 its the glossy, but i also read in some places that matte brings out high contrast images, which i guess applies somewhat because i have bright and dark pixels intermingled. I acknowledge that my question on material may not be answerable unless you see exactly what the heck im printing.