PDA

View Full Version : Phthalo Green YS: Thumbs up or down?

Bastet469
10-20-2014, 02:01 AM
Hi,
I'm interested in folks' opinion of Phthalo Green (Yellow Shade). My blue shade of the color is low so I'm considering branching out by either replacing the blue with the yellow shade or buying both.

There is a very visible difference in hue between the yellow and blue shades. For landscape painters, I can see how having a selection of premixed greens is a timesaver.

However like me, most people have Phthalo Green (Blue Shade) alone on their palette. Being a newbie painter, my choice was predicated on ignorance due to the fact that I simply didn't know much about the yellow shade until now. The blue shade was widely recommended for limited palettes so I blindly got some.

I assumed the rationale, in part, was that the blue shade is more available and, in some cases, cheaper than the yellow shade. But before I make a decision, I'd like to know if the yellow shade has any artistic merit.

Look forward to hearing from everybody. 😊

-Wendy

Patrick1
10-20-2014, 03:25 AM
Yes...the Blue Shade is much more common, and I can only surmise because it's cheaper to manufacture...maybe Gigalot can explain the chemical manufacturing differences (chlorinated BS vs. chlorinated and brominated YS). On second thought, maybe asking him for an explanation is not a good idea :lol: . Surprisingly, the BS is much more common even in convenience colors where you would expect YS would be preferable and give a brighter mix...like in many bright convenience greens. Again, I can only guess that cost would be the reason.