PDA

View Full Version : If you could only have one tool?

Schappell
10-09-2014, 02:27 PM
Hello everyone! Just thought I'd drop in with a question to all you pastelists out there (mainly chalk). I wouldn't say I'm new to pastels per-say, but I've only been using them for about a year now. Sadly, since it was not a medium we covered in school, (Darn them! ) I've been all but teaching myself. So, my question is, besides your fingers, (Gloved of course, I prefer nitrile as it's more durable) what tools to you find indispensable (ex. if you were stranded on a desert island...) . For me, it would easily have to be my color shaper, the rubbery end only. http://www.dickblick.com/items/04972-1001/#photos It's just perfect for fine detail blending without pulling up the pigment. It also pushes the pastel into the paper a bit more and helps with layering. How about you guys?

robertsloan2
10-09-2014, 04:05 PM
Well, that depends on whether you leave out my Pan Pastels. If I couldn't have the Sofft tools to use with them, they'd become useless. But if Sofft tools for Pans didn't count it'd be my Size 6 soft Colour Shaper for soft pastels, of all the pastel tools that's the one I actually use most on soft pastels.

For oil pastels it'd be the size 0 Clay Shapers that push those around better than the softer Colour Shapers.

Truth is I don't like stripping down to just one tool though. All sorts of things are useful. Would I have to ditch my kneaded eraser? Forget it, I use my kneaded eraser more than any colour shaper on many media - but Pans are useless without Sofft tools.

Multiple mediums take different tools. But that one Colour Shaper is my favorite of the several that I have.

Schappell
10-09-2014, 04:53 PM
You know, I've never tried pan pastels. They seem like they'd be great for blocking in colors. Are they pretty hard in the case similar to makeup, or powdery?

Barbara WC
10-09-2014, 04:53 PM