PDA

View Full Version : From one struggling artist to another. . .

Carlanna
09-30-2003, 10:09 PM
OK guys,

this is for the sole benefit of other self-taught, still learning, flying by the seat of the pants artists like me . . . the rest of you are allowed a smirk and a giggle . . . but be nice!

The birth of a new painting.

Firstly, choice of paper colour . . . depending on what's in the cupboard and what my gut says.

Next I lay down the basic local colours and stand back to have a good look and a bit of a think. Usually at this stage my thoughts go something like . . . . this will never work . . . . what am I doing here . . . wish I'd gone to art school . . . etc etc

So this is what it looks like at this stage

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Sep-2003/26069-sunset.jpg

Bit of a mess, but we'll see what happens.

Dyin
09-30-2003, 10:17 PM
oooooh!!! I know the ending to this one!!!!! I know you'll do it justice, Carla...but you forgot...what WAS the paper you chose???? Sitting back and watching...and I better not hear any smirks and giggles out there! Good job so far, Carla! :clap:

CarlyHardy
09-30-2003, 10:18 PM
1. Love the choice of background color! It's one of my favorites, too.
2. Wonderful abstract sense of a sunset!
3. Good balance of light and darks...

Waiting for more!
carly

Mz_Sketch_Pad
09-30-2003, 11:42 PM
as a fellow struggling self- taught artist.. i want to say, this piece is going just fine. i bet it'll be beautiful.

Carlanna
09-30-2003, 11:42 PM
orange (gulp!!) background 24 x 18in

added more colour

started blending like coloured areas

stand back and think maybe I should be doing the laundry

well . . . . here 'tis so far . . .

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Sep-2003/26069-sunset-2.jpg

don't expect anything but lurid :D

better keep going . . .

Oh . . . and thanks to my cheer squad ;)

Dyin
09-30-2003, 11:55 PM