PDA

View Full Version : Depressed

corrinelo
09-30-2003, 05:57 PM
Hello

I need some helped I was laid off from my job September 19 was my last day.. I was a graphic designer...since then I have been really down and have no motivation at all to do anything!!!! Please help me what can I do to get out of my slump...I need to create my portfolio so I can start looking for another job but all I can do is lay in bed. I have no confidence in my self any more. I was a graphic designer for 3 years doing mostly computer related artwork (websites, graphics etc) So I basically havent painted or drawn by hand in almost 3 years and the thought of doing it now is scary...I am afraid to make a mark on my paper!!

Any suggestions?

Thanks for listening

Cathy Morgan
09-30-2003, 11:08 PM
Starting from where you are now, it seems to me that you could use some personal assistance - a psychological jump start, so to speak. If you don't have the energy to get out of bed, maybe you have a phone next to it? If you feel too unlovable to call anyone you know, try a crisis line. The fact that you wrote this message is a great sign. You either got up or you have a good laptop computer.

Jump starts can come from a lot of sources - a job search support group, a community mental health clinic (free counseling - don't underestimate the power of someone listening to you as if you matter) - an artists support group - an artist partner or ANY partner whom you call once or twice a day to check in with action plans and what you did.

So that's my main suggestion - to ask someone, somewhere, for a jump start. Then you can work on how to keep your battery charged up.

Rose Queen
09-30-2003, 11:36 PM