PDA

View Full Version : replacing open stock pastels..

jakertanner
08-11-2014, 08:13 PM
Hi,

was wondering how most of you go about replacing open stock pastels, once they are low in your boxes...In other words, once you organize your pastels by temp, hue, etc, how do you know which color to replace exactly, as some brands have extremely similar colors that it's hard to tell them apart, or do you just get close? Do you bring a color swatch or sample to the art store? Not sure about this process...sorry for such a beginner question.

Also, how do most separate brands or know which brand is what when they are so close...Unison and mungyo hand made pastels even look similar in size, but I am not experienced enough to tell my feel...is it a color thing?

Thanks again.

Saskia
08-11-2014, 08:38 PM
I would say that if two pastels are so similar that they can't be told apart, it probably doesn't matter which one you use.

I keep lists of the pastels I own, and make color charts. Some people break them and keep the halves with the labels separate, so they can replace them when they take out the last half. Just common sense stuff, really. Experiment and find what system works for you.

robertsloan2
08-11-2014, 08:39 PM
I'm not sure what others do. Back in New Orleans, I did run down pretty far on a couple of skin tones, a tan and a skin highlight beige. So I brought those stubs into the store and matched them against the sticks and bought replacement sticks. I just bought new ones before running out completely. I think if I had an unlabeled little piece I wanted more of, I might literally mail a swatch to Dick Blick with my best guess as to brand and ask them to match the swatch. Or to Dakota.