PDA

View Full Version : Using Fixative

Norma46
08-05-2014, 04:45 PM
I'm rather new to pastel. I have been told "don't ever use fixative" and I've been told "use fixative often but don't use permanent fixative. I have been told that fixative darkens the colors. I have been told that Spectrafix doesn't darken the colors. I have been told that using hair spray is a good fixative and others have said it is unacceptable.

Can experienced pastelists weigh in on this?

Thanks. Norma:eek:

DAK723
08-05-2014, 08:59 PM
There are many opinions - as you have found out!:eek:

Fixative is used by many pastel artists, but many artists elect not to use it as well. There is no rule whatsoever. Some use it at the early stages of painting, but not at the end. In some cases, it will depend on the paper used, as some papers hold pastel better than others.

Fixative will alter the look of the painting to a certain degree - usually darkening the lighter colors (as they sink into the paper or the pastel colors below). Some brands alter the look more than others - and unfortunately you usually get what you pay for as the best brands are often the most expensive. A popular brand that is fairly new is Spectrafix - which also has the benefit of being non-toxic. (The other brands should be used with a respirator and preferably outdoors.) It also is among the best for altering the work the least. Some other brands that are often recommended are Lascaux, Latour and Schminke's fixative.

How much the painting is altered depends on multiple factors - how heavily is the fixative applied, how heavy is the pastel applied, the paper, and the brand of pastel probably play a part as well. Fixative should usually be applied in light coats - often multiple light coats. It is always best to test the fixative out on a test piece of the same paper that you are using for your painting.