PDA

View Full Version : Pan Pastels

starku
07-05-2014, 08:17 PM
I'm a newbie and have just spent a couple of hours browsing. I'm looking for any/all info/advice about pan pastels. I tried searching for pan pastels but came up empty. Any advice on where to look?

Saskia
07-05-2014, 08:52 PM
Oh boy, have you come to the right place. Try these two monster threads:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=455375 (old thread)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=455375 (new thread)

Fantastic demo by Deborah Secor:

http://vimeo.com/7336736

Also search Youtube for more demos, as well as the PanPastel site itself.

robertsloan2
07-06-2014, 01:49 AM
Pan Pastels are popular in this forum. I've got the full range set and have posted heavily in both of the big monster threads. They're clean, convenient, mix like paint, nicely opaque but you can sometimes get some transparency if you go lightly on a surface. Also cheaper in the sets than individually and the sets come with the Sofft tools that really are the best thing to apply them. They are not the same as similar looking cosmetic sponges and applicators, different sponge formula.

We're almost getting to where a new monster thread would be a good idea.

starku
07-07-2014, 10:28 PM
Saskia,

Thanks so much for the extremely helpful reply. I'm sure I'll eventually get used to the search function here, but you have surely saved me significant time.

All the best to you.....

starku
07-07-2014, 10:31 PM
Robert,

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate the info and look forward to any new threads.

starku
07-12-2014, 12:04 PM
Saskia,

I noticed that the two links you provided are identical. Is there a second one?

thanks

Saskia
07-12-2014, 12:27 PM
Oh, I'm sorry, thanks for pointing out the mistake! Here is the link for the second thread:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?p=13900330#post13900330

chuas2
07-12-2014, 03:40 PM
Hi Saskia,
I hope this doesn't double post, I just hit a wrong key :D