PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed: how to depict "warm lamplight" in opaque acrylic?

terrifel
06-03-2014, 01:21 AM
I am an amateur painter, and I am having the devil of a time trying to work out a painting problem. I would be hugely grateful if somebody could point me in the right direction. Using opaque acrylics, I am trying to depict an area of warm light from a lamp, shining across a reddish surface like crimson damask fabric.

For the life of me, I cannot work out this apparently simple problem. It seems like it should be easy to approximate the warm area, and the shadowed area, and then blend them together. But I am wasting vast amounts of paint and am no closer to working this out. Somehow I am not "seeing" the values of these colors correctly, or something. My shadowed area always ends up being warmer, while my "lamplit" area ends up looking like a muddy flesh tone rather than the most vividly colored area. If anyone has a suggestion about the best way to approach this effect, I'd be most grateful.

I suspect there might be whole threads here about the rules for depicting warm light sources, but there is quite a bit of information here and I'm rather overwhelmed.

0chre
06-03-2014, 05:05 AM
If you could post a picture of what you have now, it could be easier to help, to give more specific directions.

Patrick1
06-03-2014, 07:26 PM
Yup...if you could post a reference pic that would be helpful...assuming you are working from one.

I would expect the light's inherent color could be represented by a clean mix of white + a small amount of yellow-orange or orange. It would be good to mix up a pile of whatever color you use as the light's color.