PDA

View Full Version : What do you do when everything is falling flat?

Mettaphorica
04-29-2014, 08:06 AM
Hi all

I've been doing pastels for about 18 months. Up until recently, I didn't have a problem with either inspiration, motivation, or subject matter. And, silly me, thought I never would. But recently I've been producing rubbish - several in succession. I haven't posted in a while because of this, and have thrown the last 3 out because they seemed so unworkable or salvagable, (something I thought I would never do), and am deeply disappointed with what I'm producing at the moment. Yet my subject matter hasn't changed, nor technique. I feel like my skills have gone backwards.

To add context, recently my fiance generously offered to get professionally framed and hang on the wall any two of my paintings. I chose the two I thought were the best, and I also know he likes them. They look even better matted and framed than I ever thought they would. I look at one of them and don't believe it was actually me who produced it - I feel so incompetent now compared to that work of a year ago. I found myself resisting doing any pastel work. In order to break this, I had a break for a week where I stopped doing pastels and just did whatever I felt like. I did a silly watercolour, a watercolour pencil that made me wonder why did I ever spend what I did on the pencils, and a miniature pastel that seemed easy (wasn't), but my fiance said he liked anyway (as good spouses do). I really wanted to do an oil painting, but didn't, because I didn't have enough 'technical' knowledge on oils, and I didn't want to slow down the creative process by having to learn about oils again (used once, I know nothing of them).