PDA

View Full Version : Recent work

Darisc
04-07-2014, 10:53 PM
Hi folks,

I'm a painter, NOT a "computer artist", but I have discovered an iPad app which allows me to use a dollar stylus as a brush, pen, pencil, pastel stick, to sketch out ideas for works in traditional media.

The app is Procreate ($6 at the App Store) and is addictive. Trial and error are swift and results can be saved rendering one stultified as to deciding which to save/print/paint.

Here's a drawing I did ( on the iPad) and numerous images, all based on the original grayscale drawing.

Again, I'm not a "digital artist" per se, I just have found an incredible digital sketch book.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Apr-2014/1706895-image.jpg

karen m
04-07-2014, 11:25 PM
Very dynamic work! Keep it up. :wave:

AndreD
04-07-2014, 11:31 PM
That's pretty impressive. Almost makes me wish I had an ipad to play around with for a bit :P

birdhs
04-08-2014, 06:55 AM
Always glad to see new talent here. Glad you shared this with us, new ideas help those of us who are young at heart.

greggo

Spottters
04-08-2014, 10:21 AM
Very nice work....

Inward Arts
04-08-2014, 10:55 AM
OK, really? this is truely cool. I dont have an ipad, but maybe i should look into this app! maybe you can put it on a laptop???

B/c what you have done here is truely amazing. Now, to traslate the exact work in real media onto a real surface = could be challenging and/or feel LABOR intensive at best.

BUT for practice (which I need lots of and don't want to waste materials!) this is awesome.

i love the last one, in the top right corner. the composition is so dynamic. Wonderful work.

abstractca
04-08-2014, 10:59 AM
the colors and composition, very nice

davefriend
04-08-2014, 12:15 PM
These look fun although it is hard to see detail in such small thumbnails of the multiple pieces. Good color combinations. I like the ones with contrasts better. Nice loose effect for a digital approach. :thumbsup:

Eraethil