PDA

View Full Version : What is meant by broken color?

old_hobbyist
04-05-2014, 06:34 PM
A number of artists are touting painting in broken color. What is it and are there examples of same?

DMSS
04-05-2014, 06:57 PM
I think it is laying down 2 colors next to each other on the canvas, and they mix optically, as opposed to mixing those 2 colors on your palette and applying the mix to the canvas. It can also be done by scumbling a layer of 1 or more colors on top of a dry layer of another color. I guess the Impressionists used broken color, so their paintings would be examples. I'm not an expert, but others on this forum are, so let's see what they have to say. Perhaps there is a more technical or informative way to describe this than I have provided?

WFMartin
04-05-2014, 07:10 PM
To me the term, "broken color" usually refers to a technique of paint application for which the consistency of the paint has to be just optimum, the brush is loaded with just the appropriate amount of paint, and the brush is held nearly parallel with the surface of the canvas , and dragged, carefully over the surface of the canvas.

The paint is deposited only upon the "hills" of the weave of the canvas, leaving the "valleys" of the canvas texture free of paint.

This method is often used to achieve an optical middle value, when the underpainting is of a dark color, and the fresh paint (the paint being "broken" as it is applied) is lighter, and is deposited only upon the tips of the weave.

That is what "broken color" means to me.:)

opainter
04-05-2014, 07:36 PM