PDA

View Full Version : AS Colorfix dark colors. Good for?

Sunione
04-05-2014, 01:44 AM
When looking to try out different brands and types of paper, I purchased the 2 AS Colorfix assortment packs, described as cool and warm collections in 9x12. Both contain some very dark colors that I cannot seem to find a use for. Anyone here use these dark papers? If so for what subjects?
Suni:wave:

Still-trying
04-05-2014, 07:06 AM
I'm new to pastel too and also bought some of that dark paper. I used some of it by putting a lighter pastel and rubbing all over the sheet with a foam brush. Now I had a much lighter surface to work on. I used it for practice work. Good luck.

jackiesimmonds
04-05-2014, 08:54 AM
For me, the dark papers provide a great opportunity to do pictures which are highly colourful and contrasty. rich Darks are obviously easier to achieve, and the lights in a picture will stand out wonderfully against the dark ground. This applies to just about any subject, I have used them for some strongly coloured still life images, with lots of black, red and white in them, and also have just completed an outdoor market scene, using black paper, it looks very contrasty with lots of sunlight and shadows.
forgive the poor photo, taken with an iPhone - . But you can see how the dark paper has helped the picture to sparkle. you can see hints of the darkness of the paper thro the pastel used for the buildings, but where I have used the very lightest tones, I have pressed harder to eliminate the black paper more.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-Apr-2014/1805-photo_2_adjusted.jpg

just one thing........ I used soft pastels throughout. You will not get this kind of richness of tone and colour using pastel pencils, they simply do not put enough pigment down onto the surface.

Mettaphorica
04-05-2014, 09:50 AM
Very rich, beautiful.
cheers
Donna

neddelta
04-05-2014, 01:27 PM