PDA

View Full Version : Acrylic medium?

beetee
03-21-2014, 11:26 AM
I am total newbie in acrylic,(i mostly use charcoal and some oil painting),my question -- is GAC 100 a unique product? or is there an equivalent in other brands?
,that I could use (for sealing MDF etc And for using in acrylic paintings)

Thanks in advance

Brian

janinco
03-21-2014, 01:45 PM
Ampersand mentions Gamblin PVA on their blog:
http://ampersandartsupply.blogspot.com/2012/09/panel-painting-tips-how-to-seal.html

Jan

beetee
03-21-2014, 02:32 PM
Thanks Jan.
I am looking for an equivalent or alternative to GAC100 which can be used for saeling and used for a medium while painting?

Brian

janinco
03-21-2014, 02:55 PM
I'm using Daler Rowney's white gesso primer and really like it. I haven't used it on MDF, just birch panel, but I think it covers well. I keep a squirt bottle to use instead of titanium white when I'm building a light opaque area over darker paints.

This is what the product description says:
"Can be used on any non oily surface eg.Plywood, untempered hardboard, cardboard, plaster, MDF, canvas, etc."

It's considered student grade so it's for use indoors only and I use 3-4 coats with light sanding between if it's for canvas and a quick pass between coats with a razor blade if it's board and I'm trying to get a very smooth surface. I suppose a higher priced, artist grade product would cover better and require fewer coats, but I'm still learning and need something that isn't terribly expensive. I paid $24 for a gallon tub on sale.

Jan

lt_scout
03-21-2014, 04:45 PM
You could use plain old carpender's glue like Weldbond mixed with a bit of water for sealing your panels, works great. It would NOT work as a medium.

Using any brand acrylic polymer gel would work as medium. It's the same binder as acrylic paint without the pigment added. Pick one that has the flow you like. You could even seal with it but you run the risk of wood tannins getting through, wood glue is better.