PDA

View Full Version : Need help with even-out the background!

laoqianqian
03-12-2014, 11:46 AM
Hi all,
I've been a member for a few years but rarely speak due to my poor English.

I am a pastel artist. I recently changed my interest from portraits to still life. I try to approach a classic yet contemporary look. In some cases, that leads to a simplified background. I do dry-underpainting with pastels and work my way toward the last layer. My fingers are my ultimate blending tool. I've tried paper towels and insulate pipe only to find they just wipe the dust off instead of "squeezing" them into the surface.

I use Canson Mi-Tients Touch for the most part. Ouch... that's the creaming from my fingers. Even I sacrifice my fingers for the desired even and heavily-toned background, the outcome wasn't much desirable. As for the example below, the dark background isn't as "recessive" as I would hope.

I am excited to find so much information about underpainting with liquid medium and I will definitely experiment with them. My question here is: for the pieces that I've already done, is there anyway I can fix the "white spots" or uneveness without disturbing the whole finished work? (in the 2nd pic you would see what I called the "white spots" around the plate.

Devonlass
03-12-2014, 01:53 PM
You could try using a color shaper, the pointed one would probably do the job.

Colorix
03-12-2014, 01:59 PM
What a beautiful and sensitive painting, a bit "dreamy" in character.

These white spots (and we're all familiar with them) happen when we are too careful to not paint over the line, and when we blend and don't want the next area to be smudged by the blending and so we stop short of the line.

The best is to avoid this, and to be more bold at the start of a painting. It doesn't matter if you overlap or smudge, as the next layer will correct that. You can also work on darker papers, if Touch comes in dark colours.