PDA

View Full Version : Need help progressing

a-k-m
02-27-2014, 04:19 PM
Hello,

I've been drawing for about 1,5 years.
Mostly digital, but lately I began with pastels.

Now I cant achieve a certain degree of realism, and I'm stuck on it.
I can't figure out why.
I would appreciate I you guys could help me out on that :)

I'll attach some files of my pastels so you guy can have an idea of what I'm talking about:

http://imageshack.com/a/img62/396/qo24.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img35/9161/5rt3.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img812/5263/ainb.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img31/6382/xeoe.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img607/3372/1xxe.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img706/2871/ja5g.jpg

I would really appreciate your help!

Thanks in advance!!!
Greetings
André

Psalm37
02-27-2014, 04:44 PM
All I can do is to say keep drawing and painting and put aside that incessant nagging drive to be perfect in your realism. What I mean is, I found that in my early years of drawing and painting I had this unhealthy drive that literally put me on the edge of depression. I tried so hard that I was just spinning my wheels and not getting anywhere, hence, stuck. Once I put that obsessive need to be perfect, good or to achieve realism, I started to grow.

How do you do this, you wonder? well, focus on each day at a time but part of that secret is the doing, not necessarily the wanting. Once you achieve some movement or growth, pick up that wanting. The wanting will be the catalyst to get you motivated and striving to become even better.

Draw, draw, draw, paint, paint, observe and when you can, draw from life (plein air). Study other artists and their work and keep a positive attitude. Hope this helps and I have answered any questions. Remember it is a journey, not necessarily the destination. I remind myself that everyday.

Colorix
02-27-2014, 04:54 PM