PDA

View Full Version : Plein aire, 1000 steps and a workshop

bhavani.krishnan
02-24-2014, 06:55 PM
Again I had a very busy weekend. So this is going to be a long post.
First i went plein aire painting... finally! I used my husband's keyboard stand and put a large mdf panel on top of it and that was my makeshift tripod. I put my table-top easel on top of this. There was enough room to put my pallette, water and brushes. This is not necessarily light-weight but it's great to get started. I went out on Saturday.. It was sunny when I woke up but by the time I got out it was really cloudy and not the pretty kinda cloudy, really quite dull and flat. There is an agricultural zone near where my place and I drove around for more than an hour looking for inspiration but the light was so flat everything looked really dull. Finally I just decided to paint a good composition and capture the cloudy dull winter scene as I saw it. Once I started painting, I was at complete bliss, being out in nature and painting, two of my favorite things. Here is what I came up with. I was so excited to have painted plein-aire that I had to share my story with you. Sorry for the long winded description.
Acrylic on canvas panel (5x7). C&C welcome
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-Feb-2014/980567-photo_2_4.JPG

Also wanted to share one more painting with you. I had the opportunity to visit Haifa, Israel for a business trip last year. Haifa is a city on the slopes of Mt.Carmel and there is a famous walking route of 1000 steps down the Carmel. I painted this from a picture I clicked on the stairs.
Acrylic on panel (6x9). C&C welcome.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-Feb-2014/980567-photo_2_5.JPG

Plus I attended a wonderful workshop on values this weekendz by local artist Brenda Boylan. Here is a painting I did in the workshop. You can read the full review in my blog.
Sunflower surprise. Acrylic on canvas panel. 8x10 in. C&C welcome