PDA

View Full Version : Tempered Hardboard Prep for Acrylics: ISO STRAIGHT ANSWER!

Bastet469
02-18-2014, 02:52 PM
Hi Every-1,

I'm a newbie painter and I'm at the end of my rope over the tempered hardboard issue. I searched books, the web & art supply employees for guidance on prepping tempered hardboard for acrylic paintings only to find a raging debate on it's usefulness that, at times, seems akin to the Hatfield's and the McCoy's.

I am, in part, the architect of my own misery because I didn't do my homework (research) BEFORE purchasing a sheet of the stuff. I only skimmed the chapter in my painting guide covering alternative supports. Basically, I saw the words "hardboard" and "cheap" and ignored the rest. So I rushed to Home Depot and bought the only hardboard that Dennis the clerk told me they sell; tempered hardboard (4' x 8' x 3/16"). He even cut it into over a dozen pieces for free after I gave him a great, inexpensive, last minute Valentine's Day gift idea for his wife. :heart: I left the store feeling like I'd made the deal of the century.

That feeling was quickly replaced with buyer's remorse when I got home and began researching the subject of hardboard supports more thoroughly online. That's when I first learned about UN-tempered hardboard and how some feel that the tempered variety can ruin your work over time. But for every nay sayer, there was a proponent. In an attempt to err on the side of caution, I called Dennis the next morning and inquired about un-tempered hardboard. To my dismay, he said he'd never heard of it. That was the answer I got at Lowe's too. :(

Since the un-tempered wasn't readily available, I went back to the web to see if I could salvage what I already had. The methods of prepping tempered hardboard were just as varied. Then I found information on how to cover it with canvas but nobody seems to agree on the GLUE!!! ARRRGGHH !! :mad: