PDA

View Full Version : Green

DylanF
02-12-2014, 05:33 AM
First off id like to say hello as this is my first post. Ive been reading hear for a while and finally decided to join (not so comfortable whith the whole technology thing even though im in my mid 20's) anwho to my main point. Im an acrylic painter. mostly surreal stuff some quite bold and graphic some quite anchored in reality. my main pallete consists of titanium white, cad yellow primrose, cad red light, cad red medium, quinacridone crimson, medium violet, ultramarine blue, cobalt blue, and raw umber(all Golden paints exept ultramarine which is galeria as i like the color of theres the most) . receently someone i know comented on my palette choice remarking on my lack of green saying i cant mix any high chroma greens and saying i should add pthalo green. ive also read similar comments on a few threads. now my question is where the heck in painting anything even close to resembling something real would you need somthing that saturated. i barley ever use cobalt to mix greens because they are too bright. i usualy opt for mixes of ultramarine and cad primrose sometimes even some raw umber or cad red to tone down a bit so wouldnt pthalo mixes just look like flouresent toxic slime? also ive been thinking about subtractive mixing lattley and woundering why as kids we where taught that ryb where primaries and couldn be mixed to with orange green and purple. I pulled out a tube of pthalo green from my first set of acrylics ( used maybe thrice in the last 3 years) and some cad orange and diox and to my shagrin orange+violit=large aray of earthy reds, violit+green=some nice blues similar to prusian blue and paynes grey, and green+orange= yellows imbetween raw sienna and yellow ochre. sorry for the ramble fest as you can tell im a babbler.

kinasi
02-12-2014, 05:52 AM
green also allows for high chroma lemon yellos and turquoise