PDA

View Full Version : Paper adventures

rheomode
01-31-2014, 10:05 PM
Hi everyone, my name is Jennifer and this is my first time posting here, although I have been silently haunting the place for a while :)

I am about to start on some new works, and I decided last month to engage in a fair bit of research into the materials that I use (papers, pigments, and fixatives, as well as mounting techniques) while I work out some of the compositions, and so I thought I'd post my findings and ideas and see if I might get some feedback on the thoughts rolling around in my skull.

My interest is in the longevity of my paintings at this point (like, at least 500 years longevity, and I promise it's not an ego thing :)), and while I am feeling pretty good about the available papers and fixatives viewed from this perspective, when it comes to pigments, I confess myself dismayed, and it looks like I am not alone, the rants are well justified and then some, in my opinion. I'll post on pigments in a separate thread. I was greatly inspired by an article I've read authored by Marjorie Shelley at the Met entitled "Pastelists at Work: Two Portraits at the Metropolitan Museum by Maurice Quentin de La Tour and Jean Baptiste Perroneau."