PDA

View Full Version : Panpastel colors question

Saskia
01-29-2014, 03:57 PM
Hello,

I am just starting out with Panpastels and have no prior soft pastel experience. I am on a tight budget and therefore want to get colors appropriate for mixing. So far I own the painting set of ten, which gives me my primary colors, white, black, and some browns, but I wanted to get a few more as well. I know I want red iron oxide and chromium oxide green, and I might be able to pick three more.

Anyway, as I was looking at the colors on Blick, I noticed something. It seems like almost every color (except the grays) has a "regular" pure pigment version (as in phthlo green, permanent red, etc), an extra dark, a shade, and a tint.

So, clearly the tint would be the regular pure pigment color with white added, and the shade would be the pure pigment with black. But what about the "extra darks?" Are those just shades with more black added, or do they have more color pigment as well? Chromium oxide green extra dark, for instance, looks greener than the chromium oxide green shade, and not just "blacker." This might not be accurate, though.

Any insight on this color naming scheme would be appreciated. To stretch my budget the furthest, I think I need to understand how they are doing things. :)

Thanks!

robertsloan2
01-30-2014, 09:18 AM
They have even more black added. One color I would recommend in addition to Painters Ten is Magenta. That is an extremely useful mixing color and a pure pigment in itself.

Turquoise or Pthalo Blue tint might be very useful as a sky color. Tints and shades are convenience colors, you're at a level where adding new pure pigments extends your range. So that's up to you whether you want convenience colors or more pure pigments. I'd find a light blue tint the most useful with possibly a peach tint, a complement. Or the deep dark Violet which is excellent in landscapes. It depends on your favorite subjects too.