PDA

View Full Version : William Bouguereau, Nymphs and Satyr: WIP

klopperjohnny
01-22-2014, 04:26 PM
Original Size: 102 3/8 x 70 7/8 in. ratio: 0.69
My Size: 34.6" x 24Ē ratio: 0.69
Support: ampersand hardboard, braced with 2/3 inch plywood
Ground: Gamblin Oil Ground x2 layers (Alkyd based), further sealed with two layers of lead white + stand oil
Medium: Bill Martinís formula 1 part Linseed, 1 part Walnut, 1 part Venice Turpentine, 2 parts Oil Of Spike Lavender
High resolution JPG link to my work in progress: My website, Nymphs and Satyr (http://art.klopper-online.com/?page_id=78) (Click it again for the large version and then again for your browser to zoom in)

I initially started with blue under-painting, but did not develop it to full detail as I realized Iíll be covering it 100%. So just continued layering but adjusting my drawing/values/hue as I go. I am new to this heavy layering style, so I am just rolling with it as I go.

I opted for a much smaller version compared to the original as I worried greatly if I had enough detail in the source photo Ö now I regret not going a bit bigger (maybe 51Ē x 36Ē). But still I think it was a best to play it safe. Why I regret not going larger is the objects are small to work on, to hive you an idea their heads are maybe 1.5" wide, so yea I am using some small brushes to the details in.

I had started with a 1Ēx1Ē grid (not what I normally do) but I wanted higher starting accuracy and after all itís a Bouguereau copy and I did not trust myself to get everything in the right place without a tight starting grid.

I have posted progress in Dec/13 and Jan/14 whatís on your easel threads.

I have been working on this for some time now. Itís especially slow going for me as I get about one day a week to paint :(. I would guess I spent more than 80 hours on it already, I doubt I am halfway done Ö I just stopped counting the hours; this will be done when itís done IMO.