PDA

View Full Version : Is copying masterworks useful learning tool?

Twoolz
01-21-2014, 02:07 AM
Hi Everybody,
I've been doing pastels for about three months and love it. Just sprang for a complete set of Great American and have other pastel pencils and Rembrandts. I've really enjoyed improving my drawing and color skills copying masterworks by Rembrandt, Velasquez, Chardin, and Degas. Is anybody else doing this? If I can figure out how to post a photo, here's a Velasquez copy I'm working on. Thanks for looking and any suggestions for improvement are welcome. I'm going to post my "degas" when I've tweaked it some more.
OK - I haven't a clue how to upload photos! I tried all the instructions - reduced the photo size, etc. no luck. Any tricks I'm missing here?

DAK723
01-21-2014, 09:32 AM
Twoolz, I think lots of people copy paintings from artists they admire and hope to learn from. Certainly many beginners do it, and after 30 years as an artist, I still do it on occasion. I recommend it - but there is one possible drawback. At least for me personally, not one of my own "original" paintings is as good as the copies I do. So, there can be some frustration as I am left wondering, what am I missing! I hope this is not the case with you!

Here's a link to the uploading instructions. Since you mention that you have already tried them, not sure if they will do much good! One possible thing they may be preventing you from uploading might be if you have a firewall or security settings that need to be adjusted. If you have more than one browser on your computer, you might try that. For example, Internet Explorer may have settings that may be preventing uploads, but Firefox or another browser may work. Just guessing on my part.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=962891

Don

Colorix
01-21-2014, 01:41 PM
It happens, and for the very reason you say: to learn from the old masters.

When I did this for a Christmas card --