PDA

View Full Version : What defines a GOOD pastel technique book?

woodenpalette
01-15-2014, 12:16 PM
I am an art teacher and I am busy creating a Book that focuses primarily on teaching landscape pastel painting.

What information are you looking for in a good pastel book...topics you want to explore?

Lots of great artists on this forum and your input will help a lot.

Thank you!
Henk

Studio-1-F
01-15-2014, 04:08 PM
Henk, I assume you mean a book on how to DO pastel landascape pastel painting. Not a book on how to TEACH others how to do pastel landscape painting. Right?

Regardless, Deb Secor's is the best one I have seen so far: http://landscapesinpastel.blogspot.com

Jan

DAK723
01-15-2014, 05:37 PM
I think most books that are medium specific have the dilemma of how much info is general in nature and how much of the material focuses on the medium - in this case pastels.

If the major area of focus is landscape painting, then the topics that I would focus most on are:

1) Composition based on working from large to small starting with large value shapes.

2) Studying how light affects color - both in light and shadow areas.

3) Atmospheric perspective.

And then try to figure out some pastel specific techniques that are used.

If the focus is more on pastel specific techniques, then I would concentrate on the differences in papers, soft, medium and harder pastels and how they relate to painting the landscape. How to layer, possible use of fixative versus no fixative, working back to front and negative painting techniques.

Or, of course, try to cover both landscape painting and pastel specific techniques.

Don

sketchZ1ol
01-15-2014, 09:17 PM
hello
uh , the question is your project .

what is your point of view , +
outline/subsets/etc. ?

it is nice that you ask from folks here , however ,
there is a ton of web/net info out there ...
- show us your ' picture ' ... :)

Ed

woodenpalette
01-16-2014, 01:27 PM