PDA

View Full Version : How to use new pastels?

mkilci
12-27-2013, 07:58 PM
This will probably sound like a silly question. Since I got into pastels in the last few weeks, with holiday sales and all, I collected a few pastel sets of different brands :clap:.

I will be building some pastel boxes to store them. (I am a woodworker and will make some custom boxes soon.)

The question I have is what do you guys do with new pastels?

Do you remove the labels/how?
Store them wrapped?
Many of the boxes I see have no labels/wrappers. If remove all wrappers, how do you know what is what? IE when you run out of a specific brand/color, how do you know what it was?

Before I start ripping labels off, I wanted to get your opinions.

Thanks in advance...
M

DAK723
12-27-2013, 09:37 PM
Since pastels are often used on their sides, many folks remove the labels. The only pastel brand that I would not remove the label is Sennelier, as they can crumble without the label. I just peel the label bit by bit as I use them.

Some people break the pastel in half and store the unused half (often with the label). This way when the first half is almost used up, they can (sometimes) match the second half - and know that it may be time to order a new one.

Lots of pastel artists keep a record of what they buy by making color swatches with the brand and color name/number next to it. This will help them reorder when the time comes. Mine are not very neat, but they are functional...

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/27-Dec-2013/82335-pastel_charts.JPG

Hope this helps,

Don

chewie
12-27-2013, 10:00 PM
after working in pastel a while, you'll know what each piece is. I keep longish trays--cutting an inch chunk off for the working piece, in the lower area of each tray, leaving the wrapper-chunk left on the upper part of the tray. some brands i leave in their original containers, like terry ludwigs, and set those on the top area with the wrapper-ed pieces.