PDA

View Full Version : Pastel Restoration

doe
12-11-2013, 02:51 PM
Recently I've been asked to clean up and reframe a number of pastel portraits (I'm a professional framer as well as a pastelist) and the paper is showing some foxing. The pastels were done in the late 60's - it looks like Canson or possibly some other laid paper. They were not taken care of but are still beautiful pastel portraits. Although I've been pastelling for at least 40 years I've never had the problem myself but of course I've taken good care of mine. Anyway, I've been doing research on what methods might be available to remove foxing and the methods are too wet for pastels. One website mentions using a laser which seems like the least destructive and least damaging type of treatment, but I don't know if that is widely available. Not to mention expensive - my customer has no money - of course.

My main goal is to put all of the paintings in the right environment with acid free backings and mats, then recommend what else can be done. At least this should stop further damage, however, I keep wondering if there might be something, like a fungicide, that I could spray on the backing board that will help reduce the foxing.

Does anyone know what might be done?
Thanks,
Doreen

Deborah Secor
12-11-2013, 08:42 PM
Doreen, I did the obvious and Googled this problem. Maybe you found this link (http://www.picturerestorationscotland.co.uk/restoring_worksonpaper.html), which offers no real information BUT you might contact them and see if they can help. They show a restored pastel that had mold... There must be a way to do this!

GardenMaven
12-11-2013, 08:53 PM
I don't work with pastels, but research is my "thing". I found something that may be helpful on the Artistsnetwork. http://www.artistsnetwork.com/medium/pastel/pastel-qa-fixing-a-moldy-pastel
Basically scrape off the mold, set outside in fresh air and direct sun for a while, then repaint the scraped areas.

doe
12-12-2013, 10:18 AM