PDA

View Full Version : Waterlilies pond

murrena
11-30-2013, 03:22 AM
I'm new to watercolor, so I bought a new set of paint, some paper and started to experiment:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Nov-2013/1494489-DSC_0364.jpg
The paints set I reviewed here:
murrena.blogspot.com (http://murrena.blogspot.com)

Any advises what I did wrong?

maryinasia
11-30-2013, 03:39 AM
beautiful so far

Yorky
11-30-2013, 04:21 AM
Good start.

Glad you made it, welcome to the forum.

Doug

pjartwc
11-30-2013, 04:26 AM
Welcome to the forum. You have a great start to watercolor! Keep up the way you're doing and you will be fine. The petals on the waterlilies are excellent, especially the top one and you've shown shadow by darkening at the base. Don't forget to leave some of the white paper as the white makes the painting sparkle.

painterbear
11-30-2013, 06:06 AM
Welcome to the Watercolor Forum.

You are off to a great start with your new paints.

I like the blossoms in spots in the background and on the leaves.

Decide where the light is coming into the picture so you can have some of the flower petals that are lighter where the light hits them and darker where they are in shadow opposite them.

Ditto to what Jan said about leaving some whites.

You can glaze over your paint that is already dry with another layer of color if you wish to darken any areas.

Looking forward to seeing your next stages of the painting.

Sylvia

murrena
11-30-2013, 11:04 AM
Thanks for all the warm comments ^____^ I'll try to follow your suggestions about white and light direction and hope to finish it this weekend and show the result of course.
To tell the truth, it was not the first sheet of paper, that I've spoiled. And I really did spoil it because the flowers are too big and too close to the edges. But I'll leave it in the pad as a reminder of what not to do next time. Plus, practice makes pefect.

painterbear
11-30-2013, 11:12 AM
Murrena,